PDA

View Full Version : Any mac users with a Garmin Nuvi 760?



sp0radic
20th March 2009, 09:40 PM
I have a Garmin Nuvi 760 GPS and have installed the Garmin RoadTrip. When I try to import the trip log file, which I think is the .gpx file, it doesn't work and gives an error. Has anyone gotten this to work?

jcd
21st March 2009, 05:00 AM
I know Roadtrip works with my Legend HCx and I also know it works with gpx files I've sourced elsewhere. However, I have no idea if the Nuvi 760 can transfer trip logs. I did hook up my Dad's Nuvi 260 to my mac a while ago but I'm pretty sure I couldn't find any track logs to transfer to Roadtrip. You might want to try the gpx file in another program myTracks, I know it reads gpx files. myTracks is also supposed to transfer data from a few different gps's (of which garmin is one) however I've never tried this.

Bye Jeff.

sp0radic
21st March 2009, 02:24 PM
I reset the trip log and did a quick trip.

When I try to import the trip log into Garmin RoadTrip is says that it isn't a valid gpx file.

I had a look at the gpx file in a text editor and it looks ok to me.

I'll try the MyTracks app and see how that goes. I tried Google Earth and it doesn't give an error but doesn't seem to import it either.

sp0radic
21st March 2009, 10:08 PM
Something weird is going on with the gpx file.

I kept a copy of the original gpx file from the day I bought the gps last week. I copied that file to the gps and RoadTrip was able to import it. I then turned the gps off and back on, reconnected to the computer and now RoadTrip can't open the current gpx file. It's as if the GPS is corrupting the file.

I tried importing the corrupt file into mapsource and that doesn't work either.

sp0radic
21st March 2009, 11:53 PM
This isn't a Mac problem, so this post is in the wrong area.

I just tried mapsource and get the following error trying to "receive" the trip log:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no" ?>
<ErrorReport xmlns="http://www.garmin.com/xmlschemas/ApplicationErrors/v1">

<Error>
<Exception>
<SourceCodeLocation>
<SourceFileName>XML_DOMERRORHANDLER.CPP</SourceFileName>
<SourceFileLine>62</SourceFileLine>
</SourceCodeLocation>
<Extra>Fatal Error:
File Path: C:\DOCUME~1\Owner\LOCALS~1\Temp\MapSource\tmp5.tmp , line: 1, char: 1264
Message: Invalid character (Unicode: 0xB)</Extra>
</Exception>
<Application>
<Name>MapSource</Name>
<Build>
<Version>
<VersionMajor>6</VersionMajor>
<VersionMinor>15</VersionMinor>
<BuildMajor>4</BuildMajor>
<BuildMinor>0</BuildMinor>
</Version>
<Type>Release</Type>
<Time>Feb 9 2009, 11:31:30</Time>
<Builder>sqa</Builder>
</Build>
<LanguageID>1033</LanguageID>
<PartNumber>006-A0041-00</PartNumber>
</Application>
<Computer>
<OperatingSystem>Windows XP Service Pack 3</OperatingSystem>
<Processor>x86, Processor Level: 6, Processors:1, Model: 23 Stepping: 6</Processor>
<RamSize>1048048</RamSize>
</Computer>
<Time>2009-03-21T14:42:16Z</Time>
</Error>

<Error>
<Exception>
<SourceCodeLocation>
<SourceFileName>XML_DOMERRORHANDLER.CPP</SourceFileName>
<SourceFileLine>62</SourceFileLine>
</SourceCodeLocation>
<Extra>Fatal Error:
File Path: C:\DOCUME~1\Owner\LOCALS~1\Temp\MapSource\tmp7.tmp , line: 1, char: 1264
Message: Invalid character (Unicode: 0xB)</Extra>
</Exception>
<Application>
<Name>MapSource</Name>
<Build>
<Version>
<VersionMajor>6</VersionMajor>
<VersionMinor>15</VersionMinor>
<BuildMajor>4</BuildMajor>
<BuildMinor>0</BuildMinor>
</Version>
<Type>Release</Type>
<Time>Feb 9 2009, 11:31:30</Time>
<Builder>sqa</Builder>
</Build>
<LanguageID>1033</LanguageID>
<PartNumber>006-A0041-00</PartNumber>
</Application>
<Computer>
<OperatingSystem>Windows XP Service Pack 3</OperatingSystem>
<Processor>x86, Processor Level: 6, Processors:1, Model: 23 Stepping: 6</Processor>
<RamSize>1048048</RamSize>
</Computer>
<Time>2009-03-21T14:47:45Z</Time>
</Error>

<Error>
<Exception>
<SourceCodeLocation>
<SourceFileName>XML_DOMERRORHANDLER.CPP</SourceFileName>
<SourceFileLine>62</SourceFileLine>
</SourceCodeLocation>
<Extra>Fatal Error:
File Path: C:\DOCUME~1\Owner\LOCALS~1\Temp\MapSource\tmp5.tmp , line: 1, char: 1264
Message: Invalid character (Unicode: 0xB)</Extra>
</Exception>
<Application>
<Name>MapSource</Name>
<Build>
<Version>
<VersionMajor>6</VersionMajor>
<VersionMinor>15</VersionMinor>
<BuildMajor>4</BuildMajor>
<BuildMinor>0</BuildMinor>
</Version>
<Type>Release</Type>
<Time>Feb 9 2009, 11:31:30</Time>
<Builder>sqa</Builder>
</Build>
<LanguageID>1033</LanguageID>
<PartNumber>006-A0041-00</PartNumber>
</Application>
<Computer>
<OperatingSystem>Windows XP Service Pack 3</OperatingSystem>
<Processor>x86, Processor Level: 6, Processors:1, Model: 23 Stepping: 6</Processor>
<RamSize>1048048</RamSize>
</Computer>
<Time>2009-03-21T14:51:17Z</Time>
</Error>

</ErrorReport>

sp0radic
22nd March 2009, 12:02 AM
OK. I think I fixed it.

There were bad characters in the <gpxx:PhoneNumber> field of the gpx file. I deleted all the bogus characters and I can now use my gpx file.

Maybe there's a bug the garmin firmware?

sp0radic
22nd March 2009, 12:16 AM
Sorry for all the posts, but they may help someone.

I disconnected the garmin from the computer, reconnected and the gpx file was corrupt again.

I deleted my home location (there were 3 of them because I saved the coordinates a few times) and also deleted my home phone number from the gps.

My problem is now solved but I don't know if it will return if I re-enter my home phone number.

jcd
22nd March 2009, 08:08 AM
I deleted my home location (there were 3 of them because I saved the coordinates a few times) and also deleted my home phone number from the gps.

My problem is now solved but I don't know if it will return if I re-enter my home phone number.

Weird. Maybe you input the home phone number in a way it didn't understand.

Glad to hear its all solved.

Bye Jeff.

sp0radic
22nd March 2009, 08:39 AM
Weird. Maybe you input the home phone number in a way it didn't understand.


I entered it in the format 0299998888. I'll try it as 61299998888 in case the number of characters makes a difference. Or maybe I should some spaces between the numbers? Maybe it was a one off and it won't happen again?

jcd
27th March 2009, 08:05 AM
There is an update to Roadtrip available (2.0.2) and it looks like it may fix the problem you were having with phone numbers.

- Fixed to include the phone number for waypoints sent to GPS and saved to GPX file.
- Fixed issue where importing certain GPX files could cause a crash

Bye Jeff.

sp0radic
27th March 2009, 06:52 PM
There is an update to Roadtrip available (2.0.2) and it looks like it may fix the problem you were having with phone numbers.

Excellent. Thanks for that.