PDA

View Full Version : Setting Up An OLD L/Top for GPS?

steelo
24th August 2009, 08:48 AM
Hi peoples, I'm totally new to this so cut me a bit of slack ok LOL. I've recently bought 2 older laptops on ebay, 1 for mapping only (I hope) & the other for general purposes when travelling.
The 1st one is a Toshiba Satellite Pro 430cdt (ram 48Mb - Hd 1.3Gb) which has Win95 on it, I know OziExplorer can run on 95 but am unsure whether it has enough "space" or how to go about it. I've just purchased a pcmcia card with 4 usb ports to help if needed.
Any advice/help would be muchly appreciated

ps also what type of gps reciever would be best?

Michael
24th August 2009, 09:03 AM
Will you only use the GPS in the vehicle?
Or do you think you may want to use it as a stand alone handheld for the odd bit of exploring on foot?
Have you looked at:
http://www.oziexplorer.com/

& read thru the threads in this section?
http://www.gpsaustralia.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=32

steelo
24th August 2009, 09:22 AM
Just in car as can't do the long walks anymore (to many open heart surgeries), also we are pensioners so have a pretty tight budget.
Thanks. :hatoff

Wahroonga Farm
24th August 2009, 11:11 AM
Raster maps (Ozi) are generally quite large.

It's easy to accumulate 16Gb or so, so the 1.3Gb hard drive is the first limiting factor. Upgrading old hard drives may be tricky and the old Bios/OS may restrict drive size. The Bios may need to be updated to the latest version. 160Gb compatible drives are advertised for this unit. The easiest way would be to use a usb drive to store stuff.

If you move to a higher OS (98 etc) it will benefit from a Ram upgrade (expensive). It'll run 40Mb of ram (8Mb standard).

However the Pentium 120MHz Intel CPU will surely struggle?

I really suspect the Toshiba (http://www.edgetechcorp.com/memory/upgrade.asp?cid=18657) Satellite Pro 430CDT may be a bit past it? :)

Load up the trial version of Ozi and see how it goes before proceeding.