PDA

View Full Version : GPS apps: June 2010

Brewer
20th June 2010, 03:21 PM
Hi everyone, just wanted to share my opinions and perhaps try and spark a bit of up-to-date discussion about GPS apps for the iPhone.

I have some experience with two apps at this stage, and I've just downloaded a third which I'll comment on in a few days. The first I downloaded was Mocal (currently 1.0.2), which offers a 30-day free trial then a few different 'subscription' options from $10 per month to $60 for 3 years. I've also downloaded Sygic Mobile Maps (8.06), currently $60, which I've used for a couple of days now. The third app, downloading as I write, is Metroview.

Mocal

Top marks for the free 30-day trial. Not having used satnav before I had nothing to compare it to, but my first impressions were good. It is kind of a hybrid app, with one part offering data from content partners to help you choose, say, a shop or restaurant based on location and reviews, then switch to the satnav to get you there. The satnav works perfectly well as a standalone navigation app though so, except to say that the content side seems to work as you'd expect it to, these comments are about the navigation aspect.