PDA

View Full Version : Magellan explorist XL problems

PatrolFreak
4th August 2010, 07:18 PM
Hi all,
being a gps newbie, i need a bit of help!
I bought said GPS from ebay, with a dvd of maps, and a 2gig sd card.
i plug the unit into my pc and install the maps, but when i go to load the map on the unit, it comes up with an error "invalid basemap default basemap loading...."
help please, i have been told the card must be an offical magellan card to work!
but being a tech retard, i don't know if that matters.

thanks in advance.
Matt.

The Explorer
4th August 2010, 08:04 PM
Sounds a bit dodgy (ebay purchase with maps included) ...but

Does the unit work Ok when you dont try and load additional maps?

Do the maps you are trying to load have an *.imi extension? They will not work if they are the wrong format.

Also if the maps have been copied from an original Magellan SD card they will not work as maps are locked to the original Magellan SD card.

The only maps that will work on any SD card are the older DAST V1 maps created from the original disc on a PC...but these must have the serial code of the unit entered during the map creation process to work.

Its a bit unclear what your actual problem is without further info.

Cheers
Greg

PatrolFreak
5th August 2010, 06:04 AM
Hi Greg,
the unit seems to work fine if the sd card is not in the unit, or is empty. But it only shows waterways and main rds, no topo stuff. which is really what i'm after.
i'm sure i'm using imi.file extensions. the disc came with a heap of maps for the explorist aswell as triton and the meridean.
it has Festy maps, and oliverk maps.plus heaps of other map making programs by the looks of it!

Cheers
Matt.

darylr
5th August 2010, 08:16 AM
Hi Petrolfreak,

When you connect the GPSr to the PC via the USB cable and switch it on , does the Directory List on the PC show the SD card has this directory structure on it.

Removable Drive e: (or similar drive letter)

Background Maps

Detail Maps

Geocaches