PDA

View Full Version : Suna not working?



tb123
15th September 2010, 04:27 PM
Greetings,
anyone here having problems with Suna traffic not working at the moment?
I have a Garmin nuvi 1390T with the GM25 receiver. Normally I get the little green circle on the GPS display indicating it's receiving FM transmissions. I noticed today that the icon was not there. I cant really say when I last saw that it was there, but it's only been in the last few days.

I contacted Suna who checked and said the information is still active in Adelaide. I have tried resetting the GPS with no luck.

I upgraded the software in the unit from 4.5 to 4.6 over the weekend and cant honestly say if the traffic was active or not since then (didn't drive Sunday/ Monday) so I'm wondering if it's maybe a software fault??? Reinstalled the software today in the GPS but no difference. Checked to make sure that the trafic option was ticked in the GPS.

Tried contacting Garmin today but just kept getting busy tone until a short while ago when got the message that office is closed, will try again tomorrow but wondering if anyone else has either got a problem with suna or has upgraded software to 4.6 and still has Suna working?

cheers
TB

TalinTheLost
20th September 2010, 08:03 PM
Hey,

I have exactly the same thing - 1390T as well.
Updated software to latest on around the 5th of September, and SUNA was still working after that - I was definitely using it on my way out of Adelaide on the 9th (as i remember seeing it go grey when I went out of FM range). Came back to Adelaide on the 16th and it was no longer working (as in, the icon doesn't even show up). I thought it was just mine, so wiped and tried again - no luck.

I actually went out and bought my parents one (same model) on the weekend just been (18th) and it's experiencing the same issue - even with the original software - so I'm pretty certain it's not the units themselves.

Haven't contacted SUNA or Garmin yet.

tb123
20th September 2010, 08:58 PM
Hey mate, thanks for the reply, now I'm starting to think it's Suna again. I contacted Garmin last week and they thought it was the GM25 receiver gone Kaput, they are sending me a standard charging lead and wanting me to send to GM25 to them for testing/ replacement.

I must say I was fairly sure it was due to the upgrade of software to V4.60 in the 1390T, but if you are also experiencing the same problems (what version is yours and your parents?) then perhaps it is Suna after all.......?

They told me they tripple checked and it was definately working, but then they also tell me there is traffic around me when I'm the only one there, so who knows! ;)

TalinTheLost
20th September 2010, 09:02 PM
Hey,

Mine is at 4.6 - and i've _just_ updated my parents to the latest version as well - so can't tell you what it was (though it was a pretty big update).

One thing I haven't tried is the cable for my parent's GPS, so might give that a try tomorrow just to be sure - when I tried theirs out, it was on my existing cable.

Will try it out tomorrow and let you know how it goes :)

tb123
20th September 2010, 09:09 PM
Will try it out tomorrow and let you know how it goes :)
Thanks, that would be appreciated :)

I really, really, really dont want to have to start sending things back to Garmin (again) if it can be helped.

Curious, which side of town are you trying it out on?

cheers
TB

TalinTheLost
20th September 2010, 09:16 PM
I travel from down Noarlunga way into the CBD every day - so you'd assume it'd work somewhere there :)

I've also been out the northern suburbs once since I've noticed the issue and no traffic updates out there either :(

tb123
20th September 2010, 09:25 PM
Thanks, Ive been mainly out East, CBD and out North today and hasnt worked anywhere there. Just sent Suna an email letting them know they "may" have an issue. Maybe you could let them know as well or see what they or Garmin say.

I'll be interested to see if it starts working when you swap cables.

thanks

TalinTheLost
21st September 2010, 08:13 AM
So it seems this morning it's all working fine... really strange.

Plugged in my parents (new) cable and my GPS came up with the traffic information straight away.

Switched back to my cable - worked fine. Turned off/on, etc - still working. Plugged in my parents GPS and it's also working with both cables - whereas last night it wasn't working with mine (didn't try the new cable till this morning).

Definitely seems like there was an issue with SUNA or the FM broadcast.

tb123
21st September 2010, 08:51 AM
yeah, mine has mysteriously sprung back into life this morning as well. Perhaps someone at Suna hit the reset switch this morning after I emailed them last night.

At least I dont need to send gear back to Garmin this time around.

thanks for your feedback!

Nicko
21st September 2010, 11:28 AM
Just spoke to SUNA Traffic and they said they will call me, however, they think you are in SA (based on the town you mentioned)? you will need to provide as much info as to when 9time and day), where (road, suburb,state) and what device (this is for anyone else who replies)

Nicko
21st September 2010, 11:36 AM
SUNA Traffic have admitted there was an issue in those areas. Suna Traffic have a section to give you service information on a state by state basis.

http://www.sunatraffic.com.au/serviceinfo.html

tb123
21st September 2010, 11:50 AM
SUNA Traffic have admitted there was an issue in those areas. Suna Traffic have a section to give you service information on a state by state basis.

http://www.sunatraffic.com.au/serviceinfo.html
thanks for following up Nicko.
I contacted Suna last week regarding this issue and they confirmed to me that the service in Adelaide WAS working. (not sure how they checked, but clearly is wasnt working). During this last week when the service was not working (complete loss of service Adelaide wide 24/7) the status on the web page you linked too showed "Available" the whole time. So it seems Suna themselves may not have known that it wasnt working.

It was only this morning that it started working again. Nt sure if it was the email I sent to them last night mentioning to them that I knew of at least three units that had the same problem or if it was reported/ fixed by other sources.

anyway, all good now :)

Nicko
21st September 2010, 02:08 PM
SUNA was working but not the radio station tower they were using; thus the possible contradiction. If it happens again let the forum know.

supermoosie
29th October 2010, 12:47 PM
I have a Navman My50T. For the past month I have not been able to receive Suna Traffic in Sydney, but I have been to Canberra and Brisbane and had the traffic alerts pop up.

It used to pick up the Traffic on the automatic tuning setting and it would pick up Mix fm about Berowra and work for the rest of the trip to the Northen Beachs.

Not it does not see anything. I thought It was a hardware problem with the Charger lead/ Antenna, but it has since worked flawlessly in Brisbane and the ACT. I have reset it numerous times, restored to default settings etc.

Any ideas?

Nicko
29th October 2010, 01:37 PM
you can go to the Suna Traffic site for current status

supermoosie
3rd November 2010, 07:20 AM
Yes I have checked the status of Suna traffic and it always says its working. I tried driving in other areas of Sydney to see if it was a just reception in one area that was a problem. I can receive Mix FM, the station that used to show up as the carrier fine. I have since spoken to Navman support who wants me to do a full reload of the software, which I will do when I get a chance.

As to other peoples comments about the use of the Traffic services. I do not think you can rely on the traffic service alone. I use traffic screen to and from work as a warning of potential problems. Its great if you want to listern to a cd/ipod and still get traffic updates. It also allows earlier alerts of potential problems before the radio traffic which might not be on for anouther 10-15 minutes.
Sometimes reported problems are not worth worrying about or are not problems once you get there. Other times I have saved a lot of time by adjusting my route to get around them. Often If I see a problem come up on the GPS that I think might be a big problem I can surf the radio channels to confirm with radio traffic reports.

supermoosie
4th March 2011, 06:16 AM
I fixed my problem.

If you are having the same issue, here is what I did.

Updated Navdesk to latest version, Connected USB cable, brought up the drive letter that related to the Navman. Deleted all the files. Recovered keys, Installed latest ST patch which put all the files back on. Downloaded and updated the latest map, then activated the Maps.

The Trafic service in Sydney now works again.

I think the key was to delete the files off the Navman. A few weeks ago I tried just updating the ST patch, but it had kept all my settings once I turned the GPS back on. Having said that navman had put updated versions of the ST patch and Navdesk
since I tried last time a few weeks ago.

tb123
4th March 2011, 07:40 AM
I fixed my problem.

If you are having the same issue, here is what I did.

Updated Navdesk to latest version, Connected USB cable, brought up the drive letter that related to the Navman. Deleted all the files. Recovered keys, Installed latest ST patch which put all the files back on. Downloaded and updated the latest map, then activated the Maps.

The Trafic service in Sydney now works again.

I think the key was to delete the files off the Navman. A few weeks ago I tried just updating the ST patch, but it had kept all my settings once I turned the GPS back on. Having said that navman had put updated versions of the ST patch and Navdesk
since I tried last time a few weeks ago.

glad you got it working, seems strange though, I would have thought if it was working ok in other areas (ACT etc) then there was nothing wrong with your unit itself, sounded more like a local Sydney issue, but, since you have had the issue since October last year, doubt it took this long to fix it without at least a few complaints from others. Main thing is its working now... :)

tb123
12th November 2016, 06:08 PM
I know this is a really old thread, but just thought I'd mention that Suna hasn't been working here in Adelaide for about the last 5 years (for me at least anyway) All of a sudden 3 days ago it started working again out of the blue (I still have the Garmin 1390T mentioned at the beginning of this thread). A few years ago we took a road trip to Sydney and I took the GPS with us in the other car. As soon as we approached the Sydney metro area the traffic info started working which confirmed to me that my hardware was actually ok. When we left Sydney it stopped working and did not work when we got back to Adelaide and never worked again until a few days ago, so I guess someone may have switched something back on or fixed an issue somewhere.

Nicko
13th November 2016, 12:29 PM
I have sent an email to SUNA to see what they say.

tb123
13th November 2016, 04:17 PM
Thanks Nicko, I sent them one on Thursday as well but have yet to hear from them.

tb123
15th November 2016, 07:59 AM
I heard back from Suna and this is what they said and confirms they did in fact make a change. Not sure why mine wasn't working in the interim period though as sounds like they do regular testing...

"Thank you for your enquiry about SUNA traffic. We can confirm that we did make a change to our broadcast on 04/11/2016 by enabling broadcast on an additional radio frequency as part of our continual improvement plan. The additional broadcast was brought in as part of a Radio frequency transition plan, not to fix any known issues. From the wording of your email I suspect that this timing would line up with your device beginning to receive traffic?

We regularly conduct ground reception testing around Australia including Adelaide. The last time this was conducted was extensive testing in August to confirm broadcast health and a number of SUNA compatible devices were shown to be receiving our traffic service".

Nicko
19th November 2016, 03:00 PM
So did I. But it doesn't explain why you had a problem. Maybe the GPS manufacturer may have an answer