PDA

View Full Version : Asus netbook/tablet use with GPS ??

BeesKnees
19th March 2011, 04:20 PM
Hi all,
I'm a total novice to GPS systems :confused
so, first of the questions:
I've been searching about and pretty much decided to get one of these netbook/tablet hybrid beasties
http://www.wireless1.com.au/images/it/laptop/asus/eeepc/t101mt/blk084m/g1.jpg
I figure the PC will give me more usefulness overall than just a dedicated GPS unit.....I hope.
At this stage I'm also thinking Trackranger software...only 'cos it seems to be more user friendly. Now I know most people are using Ozi, (even just looking at the 2 websites the Trackranger site is user friendly.) and it seems that both do the same job??
One thing I'm wondering:

Using this type of set up, how does turn by turn voice compare with say, a dedicated GPS unit? I would only want this for city work of course, but it's a large part traveling at times so I want it to work well. Not worried about traffic updates etc. just good directional help.

No doubt I'll have a lot more questions yet

mihermano
19th March 2011, 05:14 PM
Hi. You may find that a dedicated GPS for the car would be easier and cheaper.

I occassionally fire up the EeePC for GPS use.
It's a 1001HA with
Garmin nRoute software (discontinued) and
Garmin GPSmap 60CSx for the signal.
EDIT: City Navigator (unlocked to the 60CSx), or OSM World Routable maps.

Turn by voice and most navigational operation is good.
You might find some pointers here http://www.gpsaustralia.net/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=32

:)

Nicko
19th March 2011, 05:47 PM
I suggest TwoNav for Tablet, it allows you to have both on and off road and view raster and vector at the same time and does auto-routing.

BeesKnees
19th March 2011, 06:18 PM
Thanks for the quick replies.
I was trying to limit the number (cost) of doodads to buy by using the PC/GPS receiver thingy. PC would have bigger screen, internet and email simplicity.

it allows you to have both on and off road