PDA

View Full Version : navman MY55T

alanmaid
10th April 2011, 03:42 PM
Hi there, I'm a new member here.
I hope someone can help me with a *****y,,I own a NAVMAN MY55T and am planning a european holiday in a few months.

My problem is,,I want to purchase the European maps but Navman Australia shop will cost over $129 whereas Navman UK are advertising these maps for around $60,but they don't appear to have the MY Series.
Can anyone inform me if there is a comparable model in the UK to my machine?

hscott21c
12th April 2011, 04:16 PM
I am a newbie too. Looking forward to getting a bit of help about this subject too.

Spoke to Navman this afternoon and you can actually hire Europe maps for $34/month.

The most important part that I learnt is that if you instal a new 2Gb micro SD card you can still leave you Aussie maps in place.

Still learning though.

alanmaid
13th April 2011, 06:10 AM
Thanks for your reply hscott, I was aware of the hire scheme but my prob is that I will be overseas for almost 9 weeks and am not sure if you can extend the hire for a second month,

It would be a better solution to purchase the European maps from the UK but I'm not sure if their software can be installed on my gps.

Its all confusing..lol
:sick3

benramsay2011
21st May 2011, 08:46 AM
I have found somewhat a confusing issue, I recently purchased a MY55T to replace my Navman S45 and I have noticed that there is a latest map guarantee.

I have found that, as far as I can determine by comparing the MY55T to the S45, the maps are not acurate. For starters the S45 has 2008 maps and I am assuming that the MY55T has 2009 maps. Now there are 3 roads that are not correctly displayed on the MY55T but the S45 is correct.

Now as far as I know a guarantee means exactly that, the maps are all up to date. So I am at a loss to figure out how the S45 with 2008 maps can be more up to date than the MY55T with 2009 maps.