PDA

View Full Version : Memory hassles with Dakota 20

nutwood
19th May 2011, 05:59 PM
I'm having some strange problems with a new Dakota 20. It's new to me, I'm new to it, so I'm unsure who's at fault here!
I've been storing caches for areas where I'm likely to be. I was in one of those areas yesterday and to my surprise the Dakota told me there were no caches there. Hmmm.
Came home last night, searched up the same caches and downloaded them to my Dakota who told me the file existed. I ruthlessly over-wrote. I also added a few more caches in the area.
I returned to the area today. Again no caches. I went through the geocache list. Definitely not there, nor were any of the others I added last night.
Came home tonight, repeated process, found one, downloaded, over-wrote existing file, then checked the list on the GPS. Surprise, surprise it was there. Repeated this with another of the missing caches and that's now listed.
What is going on here? Is there another level of memory I'm not accessing?
Suggestions appreciated!!

mihermano
19th May 2011, 11:10 PM
Hi. If you're using GSAK to send caches to the Dakota 20, it's possible to send them as caches OR waypoints (It's a setting you can chose in the GSAK Send dialogue).

Are your missing caches listed under Waypoints?
Have you recently changed the Dakota Profiles?
If sending directly from a listing website, did you get a "Saved Successfully" type message?

nutwood
20th May 2011, 04:37 PM
Thanks for the reply but I don't think the missing caches are under waypoints. It's a new toy and there's very few waypoints in there so a swag of new ones would be really obvious, even if it stored them under an obscure name.
I'm still coming to grips with the profiles, I might have inadvertently done something there. What sort of thing would I have had to do to cause this issue?