PDA

View Full Version : beer brewing

crozdog
14th March 2007, 02:42 PM
Hi All,

I'm new here & wondered if anyone else here was also into making beer at home?

I've been brewing for many years now but made the move to all grain brewing about a year ago. MMM gotta love those hops & the taste of fresh preservative free beer :food-smil.

So let me know if you brew or have any queries on making great beer (I'm sure you don't need any pointers on how to consume it ;-).

Beers,

Crozdog

Nicko
14th March 2007, 03:35 PM
and so say al of us

often_lost
14th March 2007, 05:23 PM
Hi Crozdog

My brother-in-law and I have been brewing for about a year now, and our first AG was scheduled for last Monday (public holiday here in Vic). We never got started, we spent the day fixing leaks in the mash tun and chiller, and wondering how to stop the burner from blowing out in the wind.

Our burner is a Ray's Outdoors NASA job with the 2kg/hr regulator. We were very anxious when we first fired it up!

We had to assemble it ourselves and it doesn't go very well. It seems to me that we need to tune it by adjusting how far the aperture sits in the base part. We will get an 8kg/hr regulator on Saturday morning and have another crack.

What kind of burner do you use? Is there any trick to it?

Cheers often_lost (but not often_lost_for_beer)

crozdog
15th March 2007, 08:51 AM
Hi Crozdog

My brother-in-law and I have been brewing for about a year now, and our first AG was scheduled for last Monday (public holiday here in Vic). We never got started, we spent the day fixing leaks in the mash tun and chiller, and wondering how to stop the burner from blowing out in the wind.

Our burner is a Ray's Outdoors NASA job with the 2kg/hr regulator. We were very anxious when we first fired it up!