PDA

View Full Version : Sharing a GPS between multiple applications



festy
13th July 2005, 08:57 AM
If you're using a computer and GPS for navigation, you're probably going to want to run more than one program that talks to your GPS. At any one time, my laptop might be running Map Monkey (http://www.mapmonkey.net/) , Oziexplorer (http://www.oziexplorer.com/), Netstumbler (http://www.netstumbler.org/) , UI-View (http://www.ui-view.org) or one of many other applications while in the car. Obviously, this presented a problem - only one application can access a COM port at a time, so to switch from Ozi to Netstumbler, I had to shut down one and start the other.
After a bit of looking around for a solution, I settled on Comfoolery. It's not perfect, but it's shareware and it does the job.

It seems to be getting a bit hard to track down Comfoolery, so there's a copy here (http://www.gpsaustralia.net/staff/festy/ComfoolerySetup.exe). The other bit you need is Lantronix Devicecomm (http://www.gpsaustralia.net/staff/festy/DeviceComm.exe).

Setting it up

Install the Lantronix DeviceComm. Once installed, you can configure DeviceComm via the systems' Control Panel.
Set up a few virtual COM ports. Most as read-only access to the GPS on port 5700 (all most programs will need) or read/write access on port 5701 if you intend uploading waypoints etc.


For example,
COM Port Host Port
------------------------------------------------------
Com4 127.0.0.1 5700
Com5 127.0.0.1 5700
Com6 127.0.0.1 5700
Com7 127.0.0.1 5701
This would provide 3 virtual COM ports as 'read only', and one (com7) as 'read-write'. Applications like netstumbler and destinator only need read-only, as they only recieve data from the GPS. Set the timeout values to 1000 - 1500.

Whenever you make a change to the Devicecomm configuration, you will have to restart for the changes to take effect, so set up an extra virtual COM port or two to start with. You can have a maximum of 64.


Next, start Comfoolery.
In Edit->Com Settings:
COM port: [the real com port that has the GPS, in my case 1]
Baud rate: 4800
Parity: none
Data bits : 8
Stop bits: 1
Flow control: None

In Edit->TCP settings:
Set read-only port number to 5700
Set read/write port number to 5701

Now, just set your GPS up to send NMEA data, and set your applications up to use Com6/7/8/whatever virtual ports you've created.

Craigus
13th July 2005, 11:28 AM
Great!! Thanks for this mate, It will come in very handy. :D

vincentvega
24th July 2005, 05:47 PM
I am currently using XPORT2 to achieve the same thing. I have netstumbler, oziexplorer and Map Monkey all happily sharing the GPS data.

http://curioustech.home.insightbb.com/xport.html

You also have to install this for it to work:

http://curioustech.home.insightbb.com/compass.htm

The compass app is kind of cool, but i currently have it hidden (opacity set to 0) as it can be a bit annoying over the top of some apps.

festy
25th July 2005, 07:41 AM
Thanks, I might check out XPORT2. I'm not completely happy with comfoolery...

vincentvega
25th July 2005, 08:59 AM
I found a bit of a bug in Xport yesterday.

On the compass web page he offeres 2 alternative skins. I found that when using the donut2.zip skin upon rebooting the opacity level was forgotten and the app was no longer hidden.

If you want to run the compass in the background without being able to see it, just use the default skin for compass and it wont have any trouble remembering its opacity level

festy
25th July 2005, 11:12 AM
I found a nice one in comfoolery on the weekend too. If you have everything set up for NMEA/4800 but have Ozi set to use Garmin PVT for moving map, you get a BSOD - the first blue screen I've been able to reliably reproduce on XP :)

alpha993
16th August 2005, 09:58 AM
Check out
http://franson.com/gpsgate/

I used the trial a few months back - worked a treat on an iPAQ 3970 and 4700 with CF GPS card.

No affiliations/kick-backs etc etc - just my individual experience (sample size=1, therefore statistically invalid)... :rolleyes:

vincentvega
16th August 2005, 10:15 AM
GPSgate is apparently very good, but not free...

what limitations did you find with the trial version?

arthurking83
23rd August 2005, 10:24 PM
XPort2 is working well (ATM), and the compass program isn't too much of a bother (more of a ***** to set up :rolleyes: )

Dunno 'bout you people, but I can't get more than 2 extra com ports!
That is 3, with NMEA Compass running!

I can't figure out what I'm doing, but I am running my serial cable via a serial-USB converter!

The compass is OK though!
We're going to have to come up with a graphic for tha,t to fit with this sites theme :D


cheers.

alpha993
24th August 2005, 06:56 AM
GPSgate is apparently very good, but not free...

what limitations did you find with the trial version?

No limitations at all really - it worked with my 2 hardware set-ups without any significant issue. Like a lot of ppc software, I used the trial but at the time couldn't really justify the US$29 price tag.

That might change soon... I have been playing with sms2ozi and gps2sms... ;)

vincentvega
24th August 2005, 07:13 AM
XPort2 is working well (ATM), and the compass program isn't too much of a bother (more of a ***** to set up :rolleyes: )

Dunno 'bout you people, but I can't get more than 2 extra com ports!
That is 3, with NMEA Compass running!

I can't figure out what I'm doing, but I am running my serial cable via a serial-USB converter!

The compass is OK though!
We're going to have to come up with a graphic for tha,t to fit with this sites theme :D


cheers.

I have 4 shared ports, plus the compass port running without problems. SO thats 5 ports all up. The only difference i can see is that you are using a USB to serial converter, whereas im using a proper serial port (my pc has 4 onboard..)

If you like, take a screenshot of the configuration your using and i will see if i can help you out.

arthurking83
24th August 2005, 08:10 AM
Ok!
I seem to have figured it out a bit??
It seems that you have to stop the service before you can add more ports.
Makes sense!

I created 6 ports now :D

Is anyone having trouble with particular programs??

I can get Ozi, and VisualGPS to work, but none of the Magellan software, G7ToWin, WorldWind(with GPS plugin).....

hmmm :(

I'm probably doing something wrong again :rolleyes:
But I got it working (and I don't mind the compass) just not with all programs.

vincentvega
24th August 2005, 08:25 AM
All of those programs require bi-directional comms to the GPS. ie they need to be able to talk to the GPS as well as receive data from it.

Xport only allows you to listen on the shared ports. You cant have 5 different programs all trying to talk to the GPS at once...

vincentvega
1st October 2005, 03:13 PM
just noticed that Xport3 has been released

http://curioustech.home.insightbb.com/xport.html

Now looks alot simpler to set up, and uses less ram

bcasot
5th October 2005, 10:29 AM
I'm to scared to go anywhere near ports. I spent 3 days stuffing around to get the ****** thing working (BT) I have had gps gate for a while but scared to run it. :confused:

arthurking83
5th October 2005, 03:49 PM
Just started using XPort3, works very efficiently on all apps, except stupid magellans DAST! :mad:

Main thing is, that it works really well. :D

bcasot
5th February 2006, 08:40 AM
BCASOT

Hi Arthur, have you managed to connect a gps to DAST? Are you still using XPort3?

I have a few applications DAST especially that for some reason I cannot connect to GPS. My ultimate goal is to get auto routing-moving map on laptop or carputer that will be connected to a screen that is currently in my car.

ARTHUR
I think there is a way(only for moving map in DAST)

Xport wants to set the output port to a virtual port (Com3 +) and DAST(Mapsend) doesn't like virtual ports!

I tried to set all eight ports in Xport, and I can see, in Xport, that DAST connects, but for some reason doesn't accept the data???(except NMEA)

What I did: (backup mapsend.ini first!)
Edit mapsend.ini. (in the DiscoverAus folder) Look for the line
[DEVICE DEFAULTS]
*you will see comport and baud rate here*
I set them to com3 and baud 4800(use whatever you've set the physical comport)

Then start DAST, and use "options" -> "GPS settings"
Select the comport and press 'test' or use Autodetect.

Try Autodetect first and make sure the Xport window is visible!
You will notice (in Xport) when DAST querys the comport, the green button associated with that comport turns on(in Xport).
That means they are communicating!
(just not for uploading/downloading)

The only way to get DAST and Xport working is via NMEA!!!

DAST doesn't communicate via NMEA for waypoints, tracks, etc... only moving map!

In DAST:
Go to "GPS Log"-> "Start"
This will begin moving map(using the NMEA data only), and the small orange triangle icon will display your position.

AFAIK, that is currently the only way to get a comport splitter working with DAST.

I'm assuming there are some proprietry communications between DAST and Magellan GPSr's and Xport may not relay these???
(I don't know 100% for sure)
cheers


BCASOT
Thanks Arthur, It would be great to have moving map on DAST as it has more tracks on it than just about all the programmes I have.

As I have whinged to you before, I am busy doing a reno and cut into this time (too much) with GPS stuff and at the moment have things working pretty good, BUT NOT 100% so i do not want to stuff anything up. Will try and let you know.
Cheers


"Just started using XPort3, works very efficiently on all apps, except magellans DAST! "


BCASOT
Arthur, I do appreciate your detailed procedure in getting Dast to work with xport. I istalled xport for the first time and it works fantastic with all moving map applications *EXCEPT DAMN DAST"
What you explained made sense and I did all this.
It was trying I must say and the green light in xport was on as DAST was searching and trying to connect, but no such luck. I am spewing as it seem to be a good programme.

It may be the fact that I have a bluetooth gps ( I doubt it).

Not sure what you mean NMEA?
Does Xport change the signal it receives from the GPS and convert it to NMEA so that DAST can read it? (I thought NMEA is what the GPS spits out, to all GPS software)?


ARTHUR
Hi,
you got NMEA right!

GPS says NMEA, and xport just forwards it on to your app.

The idea behind xport is great, but I can't understand why DAST won't work with it??
This doesn't make sense to me as DAST has the ability to accept a connection with a virtual com port (aka explorist range!!)
But I also coundn't get xport to talk to hyperterminal

I'm assuming you BT GPS won't communicate with DAST because of the NMEA "sentences" or something it outputs???

DAST is a fussy creature and I think it only likes to play with Magellan hardware (??)

Capture a small NMEA log (using Ozi or VisualGPS or whatever you have). It only needs about 10 or 20 lines or so, 20 seconds capture to a txt file or something......I'll compare it to what I get in my Meridian!

eg.

Quote:
$GPGLL,3743.4554,S,14457.2858,E,215842.487,A*2D
$GPGGA,215842.49,3743.4554,S,14457.2858,E,1,06,1.6 ,00067,M,,,,*3E
$GPRMC,215842.49,A,3743.4554,S,14457.2858,E,00.0,0 00.0,040206,12,E*5A
$GPGSA,A,3,11,14,19,01,22,20,,,,,,,03.4,01.6,03.0* 0F
$GPGSV,3,1,09,01,76,281,50,14,55,140,50,11,40,237, 51,25,39,018,*7B
$GPGSV,3,2,09,22,31,098,47,19,27,303,50,20,14,251, 36,03,08,335,*73
$GPGSV,3,3,09,15,05,038,,,,,,,,,,,,,*4A
$PMGNST,05.36,3,T,733,10.0,+03890,00*47
$GPGLL,3743.4554,S,14457.2858,E,215843.500,A*22
$GPGGA,215843.50,3743.4554,S,14457.2858,E,1,06,1.6 ,00067,M,,,,*37
$GPRMC,215843.50,A,3743.4554,S,14457.2858,E,00.0,0 00.0,040206,12,E*53
$GPGSA,A,3,11,14,19,01,22,20,,,,,,,03.4,01.6,03.0* 0F
$GPGSV,3,1,09,01,76,281,50,14,55,140,51,11,40,237, 51,25,39,018,*7A
$GPGSV,3,2,09,22,31,098,47,19,27,303,50,20,14,251, 36,03,08,335,*73
$GPGSV,3,3,09,15,05,038,,,,,,,,,,,,,*4A
$PMGNST,05.36,3,T,733,10.0,+03894,00*43
$GPGLL,3743.4554,S,14457.2858,E,215844.478,A*2B
$GPGGA,215844.48,3743.4554,S,14457.2858,E,1,06,1.6 ,00067,M,,,,*39
$GPRMC,215844.48,A,3743.4554,S,14457.2858,E,00.0,0 00.0,040206,12,E*5D
$GPGSA,A,3,11,14,19,01,22,20,,,,,,,03.4,01.6,03.0* 0F
$GPGSV,3,1,09,01,76,281,50,14,55,140,51,11,40,237, 51,25,39,018,*7A
$GPGSV,3,2,09,22,31,098,47,19,27,303,51,20,14,251, 36,03,08,335,*72
$GPGSV,3,3,09,15,05,038,,,,,,,,,,,,,*4A
$PMGNST,05.36,3,T,733,10.0,+03897,00*40
$GPGLL,3743.4554,S,14457.2858,E,215845.479,A*2B
$GPGGA,215845.48,3743.4554,S,14457.2858,E,1,06,1.6 ,00067,M,,,,*38
$GPRMC,215845.48,A,3743.4554,S,14457.2858,E,00.0,0 00.0,040206,12,E*5C
$GPGSA,A,3,11,14,19,01,22,20,,,,,,,03.4,01.6,03.0* 0F
$GPGSV,3,1,09,01,76,281,50,14,55,140,51,11,40,237, 51,25,39,018,*7A
$GPGSV,3,2,09,22,31,098,48,19,27,303,51,20,14,251, 36,03,08,335,*7D
$GPGSV,3,3,09,15,05,038,,,,,,,,,,,,,*4A
$PMGNST,05.36,3,T,733,10.0,+03901,00*4E
$GPGLL,3743.4555,S,14457.2858,E,215846.478,A*28
$GPGGA,215846.48,3743.4555,S,14457.2858,E,1,06,1.6 ,00067,M,,,,*3A
$GPRMC,215846.48,A,3743.4555,S,14457.2858,E,00.0,0 00.0,040206,12,E*5E
$GPGSA,A,3,11,14,19,01,22,20,,,,,,,03.4,01.6,03.0* 0F
$GPGSV,3,1,09,01,76,281,50,14,55,140,51,11,40,237, 51,25,39,018,*7A
$GPGSV,3,2,09,22,31,098,47,19,27,303,51,20,14,251, 36,03,08,335,*72
$GPGSV,3,3,09,15,05,038,,,,,,,,,,,,,*4A
$PMGNST,05.36,3,T,733,10.0,+03904,00*4B
$GPGLL,3743.4555,S,14457.2857,E,215847.484,A*25
$GPGGA,215847.48,3743.4555,S,14457.2857,E,1,06,1.6 ,00067,M,,,,*34
$GPRMC,215847.48,A,3743.4555,S,14457.2857,E,00.0,0 00.0,040206,12,E*50
$GPGSA,A,3,11,19,14,01,22,20,,,,,,,03.4,01.6,03.0* 0F
$GPGSV,3,1,09,01,76,281,50,14,55,140,51,11,40,237, 51,25,39,018,*7A
$GPGSV,3,2,09,22,31,098,48,19,27,303,51,20,14,251, 36,03,08,335,*7D
$GPGSV,3,3,09,15,05,038,,,,,,,,,,,,,*4A
$PMGNST,05.36,3,T,733,10.0,+03908,00*47
$GPGLL,3743.4555,S,14457.2857,E,215848.495,A*2A
$GPGGA,215848.50,3743.4555,S,14457.2857,E,1,06,1.9 ,00067,M,,,,*3D
$GPRMC,215848.50,A,3743.4555,S,14457.2857,E,00.0,0 00.0,040206,12,E*56
$GPGSA,A,3,19,11,14,01,22,20,,,,,,,03.5,01.9,03.0* 01
$GPGSV,3,1,09,01,76,281,50,14,55,140,50,11,40,237, 51,25,39,018,*7B
$GPGSV,3,2,09,22,31,098,47,19,27,303,51,20,14,251, 36,03,08,335,*72
$GPGSV,3,3,09,15,05,038,,,,,,,,,,,,,*4A
$PMGNST,05.36,3,T,733,10.0,+03911,00*4F



NMEA is a 'standardised' communication, so I guess we won't find any differences??
BUT! Maybe your BT GPS may be giving DAST extra or not enough NMEA information, DAST does/doesn't need, and therefore rejecting the connection?
I suspect(just a guess) you won't have the line beginning with $PMGNST....??

I've yet to look it up, but I suspect that this is GPSr info?
05.36 will be GPSr firmware, 3(i dunno??), T(??), 733(??), 10.0(maybe timezone), +03911(911 is time, 03(??)), 00*4F(I assume somekind of checksum??)

Also, to give you an idea, the Meridian's NMEA output can be...
v1.5APA, v1.5XTE, v2.1GSA.(that eg is v2.1GSA)

Can you alter/adjust/setup the NMEA 'type' output from your GPS?
What model BT GPS is it?

cheers.

bcasot
5th February 2006, 08:50 AM
$gpgga,005104.814,3746.8061,s,14653.1125,e,1,08,01 .0,39.6,m,4.5,m,,*71
$gpgsa,a,3,04,11,13,16,20,23,24,25,,,,,1.8,1.0,1.4 *3c
$gpgsv,3,1,09,01,28,112,,004,005,215,34,11,23,330, 39,13,20,262,31*74
$gpgsv,3,2,09,16,30,060,35,20,81,219,39,23,52,239, 34,24,34,248,39*72
$gpgsv,3,3,09,25,40,132,29,,,,,,,,,,,,*48
$gprmc,005104.814,a,3746.8061,s,14653.1125,e,0.00, 112.11,050206,,,a*74
$gpvtg,112.11,t,,,0.00,n,0.00,k,a*72
$gpgga,005105.814,3746.8061,s,14653.1125,e,1,08,01 .0,39.6,m,4.5,m,,*70
$gprmc,005105.814,a,3746.8061,s,14653.1125,e,0.00, 112.11,050206,,,a*75
$gpvtg,112.11,t,,,0.00,n,0.00,k,a*72
$gpgga,005106.814,3746.8060,s,14653.1126,e,1,08,01 .0,39.5,m,4.5,m,,*72
$gprmc,005106.814,a,3746.8060,s,14653.1126,e,0.00, 112.11,050206,,,a*74
$gpvtg,112.11,t,,,0.00,n,0.00,k,a*72
$gpgga,005107.814,3746.8060,s,14653.1126,e,1,08,01 .0,39.5,m,4.5,m,,*73
$gpgsa,a,3,04,11,13,16,20,23,24,25,,,,,1.8,1.0,1.4 *3c
$gpgsv,3,1,09,01,28,112,,004,005,215,34,11,23,330, 39,13,20,262,31*74
$gpgsv,3,2,09,16,30,060,35,20,81,219,39,23,52,239, 34,24,34,248,39*72
$gpgsv,3,3,09,25,40,132,28,,,,,,,,,,,,*49
$gprmc,005107.814,a,3746.8060,s,14653.1126,e,0.00, 112.11,050206,,,a*75
$gpvtg,112.11,t,,,0.00,n,0.00,k,a*72
$gpgga,005108.813,3746.8060,s,14653.1126,e,1,08,01 .0,39.5,m,4.5,m,,*7b
$gprmc,005108.813,a,3746.8060,s,14653.1126,e,0.00, 112.11,050206,,,a*7d
$gpvtg,112.11,t,,,0.00,n,0.00,k,a*72
$gpgga,005109.813,3746.8060,s,14653.1127,e,1,08,01 .0,39.5,m,4.5,m,,*7b
$gprmc,005109.813,a,3746.8060,s,14653.1127,e,0.00, 112.11,050206,,,a*7d
$gpvtg,112.11,t,,,0.00,n,0.00,k,a*72
$gpgga,005110.813,3746.8060,s,14653.1127,e,1,08,01 .0,39.5,m,4.5,m,,*73
$gpgsa,a,3,04,11,13,16,20,23,24,25,,,,,1.8,1.0,1.4 *3c
$gpgsv,3,1,09,01,28,112,,004,005,215,34,11,23,330, 39,13,20,262,31*74
$gpgsv,3,2,09,16,30,060,36,20,81,219,39,23,52,239, 35,24,34,248,39*70
$gpgsv,3,3,09,25,40,132,28,,,,,,,,,,,,*49
$gprmc,005110.813,a,3746.8060,s,14653.1127,e,0.00, 112.11,050206,,,a*75
$gpvtg,112.11,t,,,0.00,n,0.00,k,a*72
$gpgga,005111.813,3746.8060,s,14653.1128,e,1,08,01 .0,39.4,m,4.5,m,,*7c
$gprmc,005111.813,a,3746.8060,s,14653.1128,e,0.00, 112.11,050206,,,a*7b
$gpvtg,112.11,t,,,0.00,n,0.00,k,a*72
$gpgga,005112.812,3746.8060,s,14653.1129,e,1,08,01 .0,39.4,m,4.5,m,,*7f
$gprmc,005112.812,a,3746.8060,s,14653.1129,e,0.00, 112.11,050206,,,a*78
$gpvtg,112.11,t,,,0.00,n,0.00,k,a*72
$gpgga,005113.812,3746.8059,s,14653.1129,e,1,08,01 .0,39.4,m,4.5,m,,*74
$gpgsa,a,3,04,11,13,16,20,23,24,25,,,,,1.8,1.0,1.4 *3c
$gpgsv,3,1,09,01,28,112,,004,005,215,34,11,23,330, 38,13,20,262,31*75
$gpgsv,3,2,09,16,30,060,36,20,81,219,39,23,52,239, 35,24,34,248,39*70
$gpgsv,3,3,09,25,40,132,29,,,,,,,,,,,,*48
$gprmc,005113.812,a,3746.8059,s,14653.1129,e,0.00, 112.11,050206,,,a*73
$gpvtg,112.11,t,,,0.00,n,0.00,k,a*72
$gpgga,005114.812,3746.8059,s,14653.1129,e,1,08,01 .0,39.3,m,4.5,m,,*74
$gprmc,005114.812,a,3746.8059,s,14653.1129,e,0.00, 112.11,050206,,,a*74
$gpvtg,112.11,t,,,0.00,n,0.00,k,a*72
$gpgga,005115.812,3746.8059,s,14653.1129,e,1,08,01 .0,39.3,m,4.5,m,,*75
$gprmc,005115.812,a,3746.8059,s,14653.1129,e,0.00, 112.11,050206,,,a*75
$gpvtg,112.11,t,,,0.00,n,0.00,k,a*72
$gpgga,005116.812,3746.8059,s,14653.1130,e,1,08,01 .0,39.3,m,4.5,m,,*7e
$gpgsa,a,3,04,11,13,16,20,23,24,25,,,,,1.8,1.0,1.4 *3c

arthurking83
5th February 2006, 10:32 AM
The most obvious (and likely) reason is your BT GPSr doesn't send that Magellan PMGNST line.......and I'd reckon DAST must rely on that line to operate!!

So it looks like non Magellan GPSr's don't(won't/can't) work with DAST.

What I'll do is create a GPS log file, you can load the gps log file into DAST, I'll use your NMEA data and just add the PMGNST manually!

I bet that'll work for ya!

ps. I forgot you were trying a non-magellan GPS :o

EDIT:
I'm having difficulty getting a txt file converted to a DAST .gps log file :o

I really suspect that it's not going to work on the basis of that '$PMGNST' line, the format of which I got completely wrong!
(see this (http://gpsd.berlios.de/NMEA.txt) explanation of the Magellan extension)

bcasot
6th February 2006, 07:04 AM
This section? :(

Magellan Status

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
| | | | | | | |
$PMGNST,xx.xx,m,t,nnn,xx.xx,nnn,nn,c

Field Number:
1) Firmware version number?
2) Mode (1 = no fix, 2 = 2D fix, 3 = 3D fix)
3) T if we have a fix
4) numbers change - unknown
5) time left on the GPS battery in hours
6) numbers change (freq. compensation?)
7) PRN number receiving current focus
8) nmea_checksum

Only supported on Magellan GPSes.

Wishfull Thinking
Anyone know if ithere is a programme to convert NMEA into the above Magallan NMEA string, LIVE! You just don't know unless you ask (and you look)

festy
6th February 2006, 08:23 AM
would be really easy to write one for use with comfoolery...

bcasot
6th February 2006, 11:42 AM
Please do not get me excited for nothing. :p I hate that word easy. It is not even easy to say, let alone download.
What is it?
Where can I find it?

Google does not have much on it http://www.poehome.com:81/comfoolery/download/ComfoolerySetup.exe

is all I can find, but that does not even work. :confused:

Are you saying that I may have a chance to use non Magallan GPS output NMEA data and have comfoormly, convert/output data in MAGALLAN language, that DAST will/may understand. :D

festy
6th February 2006, 12:05 PM
If DAST only needs this magellan specific sentence extra, then yes, i can more than likely write an interception style program that adds that sentence to the standard NMEA data stream. If DAST requires more than that, then adding the sentence won't work.

Re: comfoolery - you need the comfoolery application, as well as Devicecomm from Lantronix. i think the setup procedure is detailed in the first post in this thread.

BTW sentence fields are:
1) firmware version number
2) Type of last fix (0 none, 1 init, 2 2D, 3 3D)
3) T if first fix, F if no fix yet
4) Battery voltage level (0999) in arbitrary units
5) Hours of operation left on battery
6) Oscillator offset in Hz at L-band
7) Proprietary information (ie. no idea)