PDA

View Full Version : Incar dash monitors

shreks1969
27th June 2007, 06:11 PM
Hi All

Im new to the GPS seen and have spent many weeks & Hours teaching myself the basics. I have set up Ozi explorer on my laptop to run with my hand held GPS unit. I have been told that you can use a small 7" screen that plugs into the laptop and can be mounted on the dash to monitor movemnt.

My questions are.

1 what should i be looking for as Ebay etc is a mine field ?
2 How do you minimse vibartion if its secured to the dash ?
3 Is there a better way

Regards

Shrek

Beast Of Bodmin
27th June 2007, 08:41 PM
Hi Shrek,
I'm looking at doing the same too.
Guys in our 4wd club have 'Lilliput' brand 7inch VGA touch screens mounted in their 4Bs.

However l'm interested to fing out whether the std single DIN size touch screen with motorised screen will accept the VGA signal and display OziExp. I've not seen any setups with this type of display.

Currently l have a pda on a suction mount and if l had another chance, wouldn't use one. Screen is way too small even though it's a 4inch type VGA.

Cheers
BoB

Corry
28th June 2007, 11:23 PM
Yeah, I'm keen to hear about these set ups. We do alot of offroading so I'm not really keen on the motorized jobs, but the lilliput style screens I'm keen to hear about. Do you know if they work OK and what are they using with them, laptops or carputers?
I'm the same with the PDA on a windscreen mount, would never do it again, although I find the PDA screen OK, just the mounting is too soft.
Since I have been running the laptop on a custom stand, I like the size of the screen, but need the touch screen as it's difficult to use a mouse of the pad on the run.

Cheers
Corry

the evil twin
2nd July 2007, 04:06 PM
I am currently using a "no name" 8 inch LCD Touchy (VGA input) dash mount from Ebay ($250 but now discontinued). Works great however if you don't want to gamble on no names stick with the name brands such as Lilliput.