PDA

View Full Version : Good place to buy car pda/gps mount?



ravenit
4th August 2005, 08:01 PM
Any sites or shops in Oz where I can get a car PDA mount? Getting the wife to hold it up is starting to annoy her. (lol)
Would rather buy locally but found this one in america... here (http://www.gomadic.com/dell-axim-x50-powered-vent-car-auto-mount-pda-phone-holder-gps-ready.html)

Shady
4th August 2005, 08:50 PM
Which PDA do you have?

Shady
4th August 2005, 08:52 PM
We will be selling the RAM mounts in the next couple of weeks. Here's one for the iPaq4100.

www.ram-mount.com.au

Very good quality stuff. Check them out.

ravenit
4th August 2005, 09:10 PM
have a Dell Axim x50. Had a quick look at the american ram mount site.
They had a x50 in one of the mounts and it looks good.
How do the suction caps go, do they last the trip without coming off???

bhoulaha
4th August 2005, 09:59 PM
I bought an Arkon PDA mount from Mr Gadget on the net.

http://www.mrgadget.com.au/catalog/arkon-hp-ipaq-car-mount-p-697.html

Works well and has both a GPS power socket and an auxiliary port.

The service from Mr G was pretty quick as well.

BH :)

UncySpam
4th August 2005, 10:26 PM
esxpansys sell the seidio and arkon mounts for a reasonable price

the cm620 (http://www.expansys.com.au/product.asp?code=111731) is the cheapest option ive found and it is suitable for all PDA's, so if you have car power etc. all ready, then this is a good choice...

ravenit
5th August 2005, 11:21 AM
Thanks checked both sites out and they look good although I need a powered unit and both sites dont seem to do a powered for a Dell unit although seidio and arkon have powered models in the US.
Any recomendations on a window mounting or a vent mounting method?.
May just order from the supplier in US to get it right.

UncySpam
5th August 2005, 01:31 PM
http://www.expansys.com.au/accessory.asp?code=DELL_AXIM_X50&atype=Mounting

has 3 different powered X50 mounts...

ravenit
5th August 2005, 10:52 PM
Thanks that was what I was after, was looking in the wrong section.
man their not cheap.!!!! $112
Probably will go with this one http://www.expansys.com.au/zoompic.asp?type=item&code=121101

Gregn
8th August 2005, 05:38 PM
I bought an Arkon PDA mount from Mr Gadget on the net.

http://www.mrgadget.com.au/catalog/arkon-hp-ipaq-car-mount-p-697.html

Works well and has both a GPS power socket and an auxiliary port.

The service from Mr G was pretty quick as well.

BH :)

This looks pretty good. You'll have to show me wehen we get togther next. Mr G is currently out of stock however.

Gregn
8th August 2005, 05:42 PM
I bought an Arkon PDA mount from Mr Gadget on the net.

http://www.mrgadget.com.au/catalog/arkon-hp-ipaq-car-mount-p-697.html

Works well and has both a GPS power socket and an auxiliary port.

The service from Mr G was pretty quick as well.

BH :)

How stable do you think the windscreen mount would be on rough terrain?

Gregn
8th August 2005, 05:45 PM
I bought an Arkon PDA mount from Mr Gadget on the net.

http://www.mrgadget.com.au/catalog/arkon-hp-ipaq-car-mount-p-697.html

Works well and has both a GPS power socket and an auxiliary port.

The service from Mr G was pretty quick as well.

BH :)

I also like the 3.5 to 2.5mm audio adapter. Not seen that before.

Nicko
18th August 2005, 02:20 AM
Arkon and Seidio will be available, along with Versatrue and GamberJohnson mounts, very shortly, and I mean VERY shortly here at GPS Australia.

Jon
27th August 2005, 05:07 PM
Only one answer for this question:

WWW.GPSAUSTRALIA.NET

If only he'd sponsor me :D

robl
4th December 2005, 06:53 AM
I use one of these:

http://www.clicon.com.au/products/dashmounts_models.html

with a SEIDO powered holder to mount my IPAQ in my Landcruiser. I have tried the suction cup windscreen mounts, but I found them unreliable when travelling in rougher country.

selar
4th December 2005, 11:30 AM
As regrds stability and Arkon winscreen mounts, I found on the trip to Newnes, that the windscreen mount itself was pretty rock solid that it was not even thoufght of. Unfortunately the XDAII kept falling out of the cradle, though. Also the Arkon supplied serial to USB connector kept coming off fro the serial port of the XDAIIb

Cruzer79
24th December 2005, 06:52 PM
ravenit,

I have a Dell Axim X3 and I bought a seidio mount for my PDA from these guys. http://www.gpsoz.com.au/seidio.htm

I also bought one of those 'dash mount disks' and combined with the suction mount this seems to be very strong. I have taken my ute across some rough terrain and it has stood up very well.

The only problem I had was in some rougher terrain, the pda would slide up the mount, causing signal to stop, however bit of double sided tape fixed that and I have not had a problem since.

You can also have a look at a picture of my setup in this 'new members' section.

selar
2nd January 2006, 08:35 AM
Stay away from the Arkon mounts. Just 6 months old and the sidegrips don't lock anymore. What a pain!

selar
3rd January 2006, 06:45 AM
From reviews I've read of the Arkon mounts, the sidegrips failing is a common fault, and is caused by the ratchet wearing out.

Apart from this I've always had trouble with the audio cable, not connecting up quite right, resulting in loss of voice prompts from my navigation software, the serial cable keeps coming out, the lugs that support the bottom of the PDA keep coming lose, the screw that holds the cradle in place keeps coming loose.

Beast Of Bodmin
11th January 2006, 06:28 PM
From reviews I've read of the Arkon mounts, the sidegrips failing is a common fault, and is caused by the ratchet wearing out.

Apart from this I've always had trouble with the audio cable, not connecting up quite right, resulting in loss of voice prompts from my navigation software, the serial cable keeps coming out, the lugs that support the bottom of the PDA keep coming lose, the screw that holds the cradle in place keeps coming loose.


I contacted Johnny Appleseed to get a mount & cable system for my iPaq 4700 / Meridian Gold system. JApple... are moving away from Arkon to Hicomm mounts. These are not on the JA website yet, nor could l find them elsewhere.

I bought a Seidio suction cup mount and 'custom made' cade cable from Brian at GPSOZ. Much better advice than JA & helpful.
This mount has a bendy stalk which l'm a little worried will allow the pda to flop about, but it has power and a port out to the Meridian for power & data.
Theyhave a RAM mount that has power & data also, but this is a big ugly brute!
I should probably get the gear in a week or so, so will see how l get on with it in reality on the tracks.

Just noticed, the big ugly RAM mount is pictured at the start of this thread.

Cheers
BoB
:)

MAC85
2nd June 2006, 09:48 AM
I have a Dell X51 and I got all of my stuff from Electric Frontier (http://www.efrontier.com.au/estore/index.php?currency=AUD) . I use one of the Freecruiser PDA cradles, and I hav never had any problem with it coming off the windscreen or the PDA falling out.

MAC85

teamgilla
6th June 2006, 08:12 PM
Although the RAM mounts are not the best looking on the market i would have to think they will out last anything else due to the way they are built. Also the attechment components are bomb proof.

bushpig59
1st May 2007, 09:18 PM
We will be selling the RAM mounts in the next couple of weeks. Here's one for the iPaq4100.

www.ram-mount.com.au

Very good quality stuff. Check them out.
I have a iPAQ h4150 how much for a ram mount del to Geelong Vic?