PDA

View Full Version : First GPS which one

wombatwal
25th August 2005, 10:23 PM
I am about to buy my first GPS for offroading. I am slightly confused as what to buy. I was thinking of the Garmin GPS 60.
I want to use the GPS in conjunction with topo maps.
I don't think I need mapping facilities. :confused:
I will not be using a laptop. I like the idea of alarms when waypoints come up and also connection to 12V outlet in vehicle and external aerial (much of a advantage with external aerial). I have never used a GPS before.Thanks in advance Wombatwal

arthurking83
25th August 2005, 11:51 PM
I'm not going to suggest that I know what you want better than you do yourself :o , but mapping on the GPS is much more enlightening than you can imagine.

I used to have a Magellan GPS2000.
No mapping not even PC connectivity!
After a week or two with the Meridian, I suddenly realised how "less handy" the 2000 really was.
I've had a mapping capable handheld since '98 and it was then that I realised that the GPSs real usefulness!

I could sit and stare at the Meridian screen for hours on end, admiring the maps :eek:

I have no experience with Garmins, other than a brief few minutes, but the Magellan menu seemed more natural(??)
(easier to understand! but then again I seem to lapse into a state of retardedness every now and then, so maybe it was really not the fault of the Garmin!) :D

Cheers :)

Pluto
26th August 2005, 05:48 AM
I can't say I agree with Arthurking's comments about Garmin.