PDA

View Full Version : Magellan Triton Series GPS

bundy4x4
25th February 2008, 01:07 PM
I have received a Triton 400. Haven't used it much yet but I can confirm that DAST sd card works fine. I am still learning how to use it for now.

The unit has also undergone a firmware upgrade to Version 1.10. Vantage point handles this nicely. Easier than explorist.

Nicko
25th February 2008, 02:42 PM
Bundy, is the 400 an Aussie basemapped unit? If not then what happens to the map when you zoom out, do you get the USA basemap or nothing showing at all?

bundy4x4
10th March 2008, 09:10 PM
The us basemap shows aus coastline and state capitals. Before the unit gets a fix it starts in Los Angeles. Locks up regularly. Vantage Point is a bit of a challenge to use. The unit is slow to respond to key presses

bundy4x4
27th April 2008, 04:17 PM
Has anyone else got a Triton? The latest firmware refuses to load and the unit is incredibly slow to respond to anything. I have gone back to using my Explorist 600 it is heaps better than the Triton so far!

Nicko
27th April 2008, 07:16 PM
Is the GPS a USA or AU unit? Which update are you tring to do AU or USA? Explorer will confirm this but I think you can't use US firmware with AU unit and vise-versa

The Explorer
27th April 2008, 08:36 PM
Is the GPS a USA or AU unit? Which update are you tring to do AU or USA? Explorer will confirm this but I think you can't use US firmware with AU unit and vise-versa

Hello - No expert on subject but firmware upgrades are now all done automatically through VantagePoint ...cut from website..

"Update 1.31 is now available for this product, but VantagePoint must be used to install it. You can learn about VantagePoint and download it here."

i.e. You can not download upgrade as a file and install as you could with eXplorist or Meridian (etc). No idea if there is US and AU versions but I suspect just one universal version for all.