PDA

View Full Version : Power Supply

Jackaroo
7th August 2008, 06:08 PM
Hi All

looking for a 12v, 3A power supply that I can plug into my ciggy lighter and power the eeePc

All the ones I have seen so far only accomodate 1.5 A

Thanks in advanced

JAckaroo :D

festy
7th August 2008, 06:12 PM
Don't know what plug the eeeeeePc has, but Jaycar were advertising a 12v voltage selectable 90w laptop PSU the other day.
I've been using their smaller one for a few years now, very happy with it.

Jackaroo
7th August 2008, 06:14 PM
Don't know what plug the eeeeeePc has, but Jaycar were advertising a 12v voltage selectable 90w laptop PSU the other day.
I've been using their smaller one for a few years now, very happy with it.

Will have a look but most of the voltage selectable ones start at 15v output and then go up. I need a 12V output, they do not seem to be very common

Jackaroo :D

festy
7th August 2008, 06:19 PM
you're right - that one starts at 15v.

The ones on ebay like http://cgi.ebay.com.au/New-Car-charger-for-Asus-Eee-PC-700-701-black_W0QQitemZ160268267169QQihZ006QQcategoryZ3151 0QQcmdZViewItemQQ_trksidZp1742.m153.l1262 appear to just be running straight off the car, but I don't know how the eeeeeeeeeepc would like 14v for too long.

Mr Router
8th August 2008, 04:09 AM
Just go the easy way and install a small, just for the EEEEEEE inverter :wave it's uncool to some to go dc to ac to dc but it cheap and works :hatoff The only noticeable is the power pack will run a shade warmer on modified sine.

Hoyks
8th August 2008, 02:17 PM
I was in Repco yesterday and they had a powerboard thing to mount in the car that had 2 ciggie plug outlets and 2 USB power outlets, if that is any help.

Mr Router
8th August 2008, 02:38 PM
Not really but sounds like a good bit of kit :hatoff

Marbelup
8th August 2008, 09:09 PM