PDA

View Full Version : Wiring GPS to motorcycle



otwayrider
27th September 2008, 03:06 PM
Hi,

I`m hoping someone answer a couple of questions regarding wiring up a GPS unit power cable to my motorcycle.
I purchased a hardwire cable to connect the GPS 60Cx to the motorcycle wiring loom.

1. Do i connect the Red and black wires to the battery directly or should i run a fuse in the line?

2. The hardwire cable has 4 wires, 2 are for data transfer white and brown, do i need these wires connected to anything?

Thanks.

Treadly
27th September 2008, 03:41 PM
You should always fuse a circuit. Put the fuse close to the battery. If you don't have a fuse and you get a short the wiring becomes red hot and sets your motor bike on fire.
If you don't need the data connections, put some insulation on the exposed ends to prevent accidentally damaging the output circuitry of the GPS.

otwayrider
27th September 2008, 06:47 PM
Thanks Treadly,

What size fuse would you recommend?

Pocileh
27th September 2008, 07:01 PM
Hope Treadly doesn't mind if I answer that.

Best is to look at the specs of your GPS.
It will have an indication somewhere as what the consumption is.
Something like 12V= and 800mA.
It's the 800mA that matters.
Choose a fuse that has a rating of a slightly higher value, say 1000 mA or 1A.